Class Members only please. Enter username or email and password.


2017 Lido 14 National Class Championships

August 11 - 13, 2017

(with a Sat / Sun only option)

2017 Dist2 Champ Mike Shea

Mike Shea Wins District One Championships

Class Association District Secretary Bruce Wasson presented the 2016 District One Championship trophy to Mike Shea. The trophy represented top finishing in the ABYC Labor Day regatta. Mike was presented the perpetual and the accompanying silver "L's" which are honor awards. As District Champion, Mike is allowed to display them on his sails.


The Truth, the Whole Truth, and Nothing but the Truth

on Centerboard Gybe

The Lido class rules allow up to a 1/4” of gybe in the centerboard. What does that mean? Basically that the leading edge moves 1/4” from side to side more than the trailing edge of the board. Read more...


 (L-R) RoyWoolsey, with is classic floppy eared hat, and Christophe Killian at the 2007 Lido 14 Class Championships in Newport Beach.  Christophe won the 2013 Lido 14 Class Championships and is now (2016) the number one ranked match racing sailor in the United States.
Roy Woolsey Regatta - 2016
Lido Island Yacht Club
Several decades ago, when I was learning how to race the Lido 14, I found myself crossing paths on the race course with Roy Woolsey.  It took quite some effort to learn how to sail better than Roy and, when I did, it was both a happy moment - for having learned how to sail better - and sad to leave someone you were fond of behind.


Clicky Web Analytics